Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Dininishing abrasives?

I have heard this term used alot on the board and was wondering if someone can explain the concept of diminishing abrasives and how they actually work.

Post Thanks / Like
    Im not an expert on the term but my take is this: When you first apply the product the abrasives (grit) are somewhat large, as you work the products in, the combination of heat and friction cause the "grit" to dry and break apart into smaller particles until they are basically dust.

Thats my take and probably far from scientific, but I tried :dunno

Eric

Post Thanks / Like
    Does that mean if you dont break them down enough by working them long enough then they could scratch because the particles are too big? Like using 150 sand paper as opposed to 200 grit?

Post Thanks / Like
    Diminished Abracives is found in Meguiar` products. Hence the reason why many of their products up to #83 are named Cleaner/Polish in stead of compounds. The logic here is that the Diminishing Abrasives remove defects and disappear in the polishing process. I also believe the term is a trade mark of Meguiar`s and exclusive to their line. This technology is also used in the Machine Compound Series product as well.

What is affords is in some ways a safety level. elortt is basically correct. The "gritty feel" will be very evident upon the beginning of the application. As the product is broken down the "gritty feel" is lessened to the point of a pure polish and now it is merely a liquid texture.

If you have any of the professional TAN bottle Meguiar`s series, #83 for example. Pour some on your finger and rub hard. At first you will feel this grit , then after a short time of rubbing you will notice it is gone.

AS far as I know, other compounds, will keep their Abrassive level throught the application and it is the user who must decied when the product has been worked enough.
    crobarcars@yahoo.com

Post Thanks / Like
    Hey,