Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

New Guy question, Really need some help

Hello,
    I have read a lot but not all of the posts plus I regularly surf other boards also and I have yet to get a "good" answer to my question, I hope you folks can help. Here goes, I am not a pro but a I love my car and want it to look as nice as possible, so I have had a sears orbital, and now know that I really need something better, I have been researching several but had knocked it down to the PC and the Cyclo. My understanding is these are both orbital and pretty much stupid proof, BUT, reading here and a few other places I am beginning to wonder if I should be looking at a rotary! But they scare me. ( and my paint is scared too!) Is there really that big a diff? What do you reccomend and why? If it helps I am working with a 98 Arctic Silver 528i it is well maintained but has not been garaged, and to complicate things I live in Germany right now, and it is against the law in most places to wash your car anywhere except a auto car wash!! So that adds to the whole maintaining problem. BTW I still hand wash when I can. Sorry I got a bit long winded, any advice/help is Welcome. Thanx and I really lkie this board.

Post Thanks / Like
    Hummmm..this story sounds familar...
    I too started with a sears orbital..it is now in a box..
    I then got a Porter cable 7424....then a second one ....ive sold the second one...

I then got a Makita rotary....I wouldn`t change the order a bit...
    Porter cable first ...practice ..then Rotary...
    Rotary can be real dangerous...Need to buy a hood or trunk to practice on...and tape off everything...and I have just learn`d how to limit splatter...

I think having both Porter cable and Rotary is important..if your serious..but don`t use rotary on your new car unless you`ve practice`d alot.....I think the rotary can do things the PC can`t...
    I am very careful with the rotary,,,

jeff

Post Thanks / Like